This is a record of the thoughts and experiences of my rather half-baked plan to go to South Korea

No News at All

Sunday, December 6, 2009

So, I have decided that I am going to stop waiting to write new and current posts until I write about some of the things that have already happened.  My sister gave me the advice that if I won’t ever write anything if I wait to start at the beginning.  I did that already and now I have been here for 2 months and only have 2 legitimate posts.  Maybe if I am okay with writing short little notices I will be more faithful in keeping up with writing things here.

Not much has happened this weekend.  I had felt kind of bad ever since getting back from the GEPIK teachers orientation that was held from Monday to Wednesday. (More on that later – I think it deserves its own post) and Thursday and Friday at work were kind of hard.  I got back from classes on Friday with plans to meet a fellow English teacher downtown for a drink around 8:30 and had plans to go running first while it was still warm out.  Well, I came tired from work as I usually am and decided to sit down for a minute and read some of the current book I am reading. I also had an intense desire to curl up under my comforter for a few minutes as I had turned the heat off in the morning and it was about 50 degrees in my apt.   The next thing I know is that it is 7:30 pitch black dark outside and about 36 degrees, so much for the warm.

I stubbornly decided to go for a run anyway, however.  It had been a while and I had been feeling unhealthy (especially after eating loads of greasy quasi-western food at the orientation meeting) and I refused to give in and put it off for another day.  So, I called the girl and told her it would be a little longer and staggered out into the cold in my thin sweatpants, jacket, and earmuffs.  Despite the weather I got in about 2.3 miles in 19 minutes. (good enough I suppose and I could no longer feel my thighs) I came back, showered, and got dressed and ran up to meet her.  Due to the delay I had asked for some plans had been messed up and now I had to wait for her for about 30 minutes.  It turned out to be a good thing, however, because some other friends called and said that they were on their way up to Seoul in a few minutes and wanted to know if I wanted to join.  I probably would have gone as I was feeling kind of reckless at the moment and that would have made for a very long night.  You kind of get stuck there until the public transportation opens back up at 6.  I only stayed out for a short while and went home early instead.

Saturday, I had had week long plans to go up to Seoul in the afternoon and meet some people I had met during orientation and go out with them at night.  I had actually been thinking of going up in the morning with a couple of people from Anseong and seeing some touristy stuff with them too.  That didn’t pan out.  I was just not feeling well during the day and never really got to feeling better so spent most of the day in bed or cleaning my apartment.  Finally, around 8pm or so I formally canceled my plans with the people in Seoul.  (A two hour long skype convo with my parents put a dent in my getting ready time) So, what with the advanced hour and my fatigue I decided not to go.  Instead I hung around cleaning and what not in my apt until around 10 when I walked downtown to meet a friend.  It was nice and much more relaxed than Seoul.  Two other people showed up as well.  The funny thing was we went, in the end, to one of the more frequented bars by foreign teachers here in Anseong and the owner came over and joined us.  Then not long after, her friend, another bar owner (and one also known as the western hangout) came in and joined us.  It was a fun and slightly bizarre experience, sitting around a table with two forty year old Korean women eating fruit (among other things) with chopsticks, occasionally being fed by one of them with chopsticks.  They would sometimes just reach over and try to shove something in  your mouth.

Today, I have spent nearly the whole day in bed.  I woke up with what seems to be a pretty severe sinus infection and cough.  I am so glad I didn’t go to Seoul last night.  I don’t know what I would be feeling like today if I had.  Last night I went out for a very short time and had relatively nothing to drink, just basically a walk, some company, and some food, and I’m feeling like this.  Ugh.

I just got off the phone with my co-teacher and may not be going to work in the morning.  I am not sure yet.  I left my insurance card at school and am not sure if I will have to go out there first before going to the hospital or even whether or not I really want to take tomorrow off.  The last time I took a sick day they had a fit.

A friend is going to bring me over some medicine now though so I might have a better night’s sleep.  What will tomorrow bring?

One response

  1. Glen Hulsey, Jr.

    Hey, Ben, this is Uncle Dale. I love reading your blog and I love you Ben!

    January 5, 2010 at 12:10 AM

Leave a comment